Hot Pilates Sculpt at Urban Spring Bangsar

Hot Pilates

Located in Bangsar, Urban Spring is a chic fitness boutique that specializes in Pilates, Hot Pilates and Xtend Barre, each of which takes place in separate studios. For the normal Pilates class, the studio comes equipped with equipment to help enhance your workout, including Trapeze table, Reformers, Ladder Barrel, Spine Corrector, Orbit, foam rollers, baby arcs, and magic circles.

Meanwhile, the Hot Pilates studio accommodates about 12 people at a time, featuring floor-to-ceiling mirrors, wooden flooring, and yoga mats. The room is also heated at around 40 Degrees Celsius throughout the entire duration of the class – needless to say, you WILL be sweating buckets within the first 15 minutes.

I’ve been severely slacking when it comes to my Hot Pilates classes, mostly due to conflicting schedules on my part. I usually attend weekday sessions after 5.30pm (but no later than 7pm) as I finish work at 5pm while my weekends are usually booked for Bodytone, movies, lunch dates, and at-home workouts. Luckily, this month’s schedule has not one, but two Hot Pilates classes that are perfect for me – 6.45pm on Tuesday & 6.35pm on Thursday.

I attended Thursday evening’s Hot Pilates Sculpt, which incorporates light weights and various equipment into traditional mat Pilates to help increase your calorie burn. My instructor was Maria, and she’s easily one of my favourite trainers at Urban Spring due to her cheerful mannerism and easy-to-follow instructions.

Overall, my session went rather smoothly, though I did struggle a bit when we did repeated lunges while balancing a magic circle over our heads.  My thigh muscles are always fatigued from regular HIIT and strength training so the combination of heat and Pilate exercises managed to alleviate some of the stiffness by the end of the hour-long class.

If you’re looking for a low-impact yet challenging workout, I highly recommend Hot Pilates at Urban Spring Bangsar.  There are various types of classes to suit just about any level of fitness, so check out their website for more information about the benefits of Hot Pilates.

Leave a Reply

