2016: A Year in Retrospect

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Now that we’re inching that much closer to the New Year, I thought I’d share some great experiences and changes I’ve made throughout 2016. I’m not saying that I’ve perfected my fitness routines or completely eliminated all sweets and desserts. A healthy lifestyle is different for everybody, and I’m definitely still learning but here are several habits that have greatly improved my health in 2016.

Dietary

  1. Meal prep on weekdays
  2. Eating out on weekends, but still getting enough greens & protein in each meal
  3. Snacking on fruit, nuts or yoghurt in between meals
  4. Eating 3 – 4 types of vegetables for lunch and dinner
  5. Enjoying something sweet for breakfast, usually peanut butter & banana on toast or oatmeal
  6. Drinking at least 4 litres of water every day, plus 1 -2 litres after working out
  7. Switching coffee for tea (chai and matcha latte are my saviours)

Fitness

  1. Signed up for free workout sessions (I’ve been lucky to participate in several this year)
  2. Strength training (either with Bodytone or at home) 2 – 3 times weekly
  3. HIIT 2 – 3 times weekly
  4. Hot Pilates 2 times weekly
  5. 1 rest day (which I spend getting a massage and/or facial)
  6. August – 10km marathon by Standard Chartered KL
  7. November – 2-hour Zumba Festival by SCORE Fitness

Next year, I’ll be focusing a lot more on my strength and flexibility, so I’ll be practicing yoga and lifting heavier weights consistently. There’s no set plan yet as I want to enjoy my holiday as much as possible, but I’ll get back on track in January. Here’s to more great adventures in 2017!

Leave a Reply

