What Happened When I Joined KFit For 1 Month

This is a long overdue post, but for the entire month of January, I decided to join KFit, a mobile app that lets you book classes at different fitness studios. Although the app is free to download, you are required to pay RM139 each month for their Fitness Pass package, which allows you attend 10 classes in total.

You can find tons of activities at various times and locations in Kuala Lumpur, such as bootcamp, Muay Thai, yoga, Crossfit, and Zumba. A penalty fee is charged if you skip or cancel the class (depending on the studio, there’s a free cancellation period between 1 hour to 24 hours), making you accountable for your workouts.

Once your 10 sessions are finished, you can also opt for additional classes as there are prices listed for each activity. I got a promotion code (where I only paid RM89 for 10 classes), so I decided to give it a shot since there are tons of fitness studios which I’ve been curious to try out.

So here’s what I’ve learned when I joined KFit for 1 month:

Pros:

  1. I get to try a variety of workouts throughout the month, from Pilates and yoga to body-weight circuits and kickboxing. My favourite was Muay Thai at Cross Muay Thai (even though the app states that it’s an hour-long session, it was actually over 2 hours!)
  2. Although I love working out on my own using Fitness Blender and free weights, having people doing grueling push-ups together with me is very motivating. It also helps to have an instructor around to correct your form!

Cons:

  1. Because of the free cancellation period, I often find myself overcome by laziness and cancel classes way too often.
  2. Instructors automatically assume I’m a beginner, so they often encourage me to take it slow and not overexert myself.
  3. Premium classes such as personal training are available during inconvenient hours. I work an 8-5 job, so I didn’t have the opportunity to try those sessions that month.

Personally, I wouldn’t continue with the Fitness Pass package because it’s rather expensive as most gyms offer unlimited classes per month with that sort of price (or even lower). However, KFit is ideal if you’re a beginner and want variety in your fitness routine as it has pretty much every single type of activity you can hope for.

Leave a Reply

