Kokoda Memorial Walk (1000 Steps)

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 preset

Last week, I travelled to Melbourne for my first-ever solo holiday. I stayed in the CBD for the first couple of days before taking the train to the Dandenong Ranges to explore the National Park, specifically the Kokoda Memorial Walk.

Also known as the 1000 Steps, climbing to the top does require a relatively good stamina which was perfect for me as I was looking to stay active during my holiday. In reality, it’s only about 800 steps so it takes between 30 minutes to 1 1/2 hours to complete the return trip.

However, I did have to pause several times to catch my breath as the climb is rather steep and slippery as it had rained heavily the day before. The view when you get to the top of Kokoda Memorial Walk isn’t very breathtaking, but what you’ll get is fresh air, towering trees, and a sense of accomplishment of completing the challenging uphill hike.

Leave a Reply

